Welcome Back!

Welcome, new and returning Sun Devils! As we head into a new semester, we want to remind you of our mission to support you by addressing your concerns to the best of our abilities. This will be the first of four posts highlighting important issues to keep in mind as we come on to campus. They will also include the contact information of our staff because your voice deserves to be heard. Stay tuned for more information and welcome again!


Student Body President Nora Thompson - nhthomps@asu.edu

Vice President of Policy Renuka Vemuri - rvemuri1@asu.edu

Vice President of Services Monica Medina - memedin4@asu.edu

Chief of Staff Karenna Sandoval - knsando2@asu.edu

Senate President Spencer McClure - svmmclur@asu.edu


As we all make our way back to campus, we want to emphasize the importance of staying healthy not only for yourself, but also for the sake of your friends, classmates, and professors. COVID-19 is easily transmitted. You may not be in the high-risk population but that may not be the case for someone around you or their family members. Please wear masks as provided in community of care kits, frequently wash your hands and sanitize, and practice social distancing guidelines. Remember, COVID-19 testing is free for students! Sun Devils support each other!


ASU Health Services - https://eoss.asu.edu/health

ASU Counseling Services - https://eoss.asu.edu/counseling

ASU COVID-19 Updates - https://eoss.asu.edu/health/announcements/coronavirus

ASU Student Advocacy (where students can go to work through personal barriers to their education) - https://eoss.asu.edu/dos/srr/StudentAdvocacyandAssistance

ASU DPC Student Advocate Carla Owen - carla.owen@asu.edu

USGD Director of Safety, Health and Wellness Van Dexter Calo - vcalo@asu.edu

USGD Director of Communications John Brown - jsbrow30@asu.edu

USGD Director of Appropriations Angel Medina - aimedin3@asu.edu


As said in our charter, ASU is “measured not by whom it excludes, but by whom it includes”. USGD stands with Black students and students of color. Though systemic racism has only gained traction in the media lately, it is a reality Black communities have been facing for decades. The social health of the community is just as important as physical health. We want all students to feel safe coming back to campus so we urge you to take some time to educate yourself on issues that may not be a part of your day-to-day experience. Once again, Sun Devils support each other!


Black Student Union Downtown

Black African Coalition

National Association of Black Journalists

  • President Kiarra Spottsville (email)

  • @nabj_atasu

ASU Center for the Study of Race and Democracy - https://csrd.asu.edu/

USGD Director of Diversity and Inclusion Lance Lim - lmlim@asu.edu

USGD Director of Student Outreach Kirsten Dorman - kcdorman@asu.edu

USGD Director of Government Affairs Michelle Ailport - mailport@asu.edu


We are here to support you. We want you to feel free and comfortable to reach out to us with any issue you may have so we can help to the best of our capabilities. The year ahead of us is going to be interesting and unprecedented but we hope it will be filled with the Sun Devil spirit!


Barrett - Senator Mckenna Hubbard (mlhubba5@asu.edu) and Senator Lex Weber (anweber3@asu.edu)

CHS - Senator Kaiah Brown (krbrow24@asu.edu) and Senator Aleksander Gomez (asgomez7@asu.edu)

Edson - Senator Taylor Sanchez (tjsanch6@asu.edu)

Cronkite - Senator Fernanda Ruiz Martinez (fruiz12@asu.edu) and Senator Corey Ball (caball2@asu.edu)

Watts - Senator Keala Busse (kbusse1@asu.edu)

CISA - Reach out to Senate President Spencer McClure (svmcclur@asu.edu)